Experience nature and culture


The Old Forester’s Lodge “Altes Forsthaus” – cultural centre

The “Neue Bau” (new building) was built in 1618 during the reign of Gottfried Heinrich as a granary (“Kastenhaus”) where subject’s carried out their corn duties. With the creation of the Kingdom of Bavaria in 1806 the building became the royal forester’s house; after 1918 it became the national forester’s house.

The building was used for various different purposes until it was reopened as the town’s cultural centre in 2004 after an extensive renovation. The building hosts conferences, conventions, presentations, workshops, seminars and training courses while many exhibitions are also held here. The attic hall has a special charm due to its visible timberwork. The house is wheelchair accessible.

zurückzoom in